What I’m Listening To Part 3

Guess who’s back with more music, meee. I’ve been listening to a somewhat random assortment of music recently, and I might make those honorable mentions. But I really want to focus on one particular artist today, mainly because I’ve been listening to their music nonstop. So now that I have a cup of hot chocolate, here’s number one!

i swear i’ll never leave again- keshi

” Mirror on the wall,
Can you tell me who I am?
I think that I forgot,
So remind me once again. “

I only recently discovered keshi and his music, and I immediately fell in love with it. It reminds me a lot of lo-fi, which I tend to listen to when I’m studying, and I really enjoy his whole music aesthetic. It’s laidback and really great to listen to when you’re just chilling at night. This is the first song of his that I just had on replay from the first time I heard it. I’m not sure why, but it really resonates with my emotions? I can’t really think of anyone in particular this would be applicable to, but I really love the sense of nostalgia I feel when I listen to this song. It reminds me of the impending feeling that by this time next year, I won’t be able to just text someone and have them be by my side at the drop of a hat. I’m definitely going to miss some people when I head off to college, and I think this song describes the pain beautifully. Go check it out! Oh and check out 2 soon from this album too, that one is so catchy and will just get stuck in your head, trust me 🙂 Next up we have…

right here- keshi

” Then go on and come home to me. Because I’m here,
If you need me I’ll be here,
Right here. “

I like that this one has a different vibe from the previous song, it definitely didn’t strike me as special at first, but the song really grew on me. It’s definitely one of my favorites now. keshi’s music is really great to jam out to on a midnight drive or a morning drive to school when you’re exhausted. This one has a strong ukulele mood (if that makes any sense lol) and the strumming stands out. This one is relaxed and more lighthearted. It feels more summery by nature. I also find the message is really cute, like you will always be here by my side? That’s so sweet. I really like how much he emphasizes that he will be a loyal friend/shoulder to cry on even though the relationship didn’t work out. Go give this song some love to! Lastly we have…

skeletons- keshi

” Feel bad, go to bed,
Wake up even worse yea.
I need medicine, medicine, medicine. All my skeletons out for the taking.
I’m afraid of myself and I hate it. “

I had a really hard time deciding which song to choose from this album, so I’d recommend also checking out atlas and summer (this one reminds me of 2 soon). However I ended up going with skeletons because I really enjoy the lyrics of this song. I like all of keshi’s lyrics of course, but this one in particular is great. He really explains what it’s like to fight a losing battle against yourself. Those days when it’s difficult to get up, and you just want a simple solution like “medicine.” That last line, being afraid of yourself and hating it? Yeah I felt that. We each hold our own demons/skeletons, and I’m stunned by how keshi created a great song out of the emotional chaos.

Time for honorable mentions! Throwback to “Amnesia” by 5SOS and “Here’s To Never Growing Up” by Avril Lavigne. Those are some great songs, so if you’re looking to reminisce, I’d start there. Anyway, I just wanted to introduce keshi, he’s not very well known, but he produces some great stuff. Go check him out, and I’ll see you next time!

Leave a comment